Warning: some images may be graphic to some audiences. All the images are only makeup and no one was hurt during filming.

I never thought I would be back so soon with a post about filming with Schlep TV.  I have a feeling this will soon become a series of blog posts. If you are interested from reading my adventure from the start, you can find my first blog post here.

This past weekend, we managed to all get together and film a short in one night. We started around 4pm and half of us didn’t finish until 6am. That was pretty extreme, and I don’t recommend starting with a schedule like that, but we finished it all and that is what matters. Before I talk about the experience, let me give you a little sneak peek of what the film is going to be about.

slender-1

I want to say around 2011, maybe 2012(?) the internet exploded with the stories of Slenderman. If you don’t know who he is, he is one of the original CreepyPastas (a type of horror forum that found new and disturbing ways to keep us all up at night.) Stories turned into an indie video game, and that slowly turned into even more video games. Slenderman managed to turn into a phenomenon, but suddenly there was negativity surrounding the name.

One day on the news, two girls allegedly murdered their friend because “Slender told them to.” HBO is said to be releasing a documentary about the event, which sparked interested in the story once again. Sony is also rumored to be making a Slenderman movie, coming later in 2017.

I was always into the stories (Ticci Toby, Jeff the Killer, Smiling Jack, ect.) Being a person who played a lot of indie PC video games, I followed the legend since the beginning and spent countless nights too scared to sleep. The recent resurgence of Slender inspired me to write about him, getting into the mind set of someone who is influence by the tall man in the woods. What would have to happen to compel someone to murder their friends “because he said to?”

img_21171

Like all film shoots, there were many ups and down. Remember how I told you all to check your egos at the door? Well, some of us forget that important step. To start, we were all stressed over the fact that plans changed last minute (like they usually do.) Right there, our egos should have been checked and moved aside. It didn’t, and when our minor characters (still our friends) finally showed up after work, tension was already in the air.

We also found out only a couple hours into the shoot, that one of our main members wanted to quit. His heart just wasn’t in it like the rest of us. Sometimes I wonder if I was the only one that was a little heartbroken, but I understood. It was his choice, and we all had to respect it. This was a real test of keeping our friendships separated from working as a professional team.

Tension ran higher when another member drifted off to sleep. When you hear the words “I’m done” and an argument break out on set, it is a real test of professionalism. I think I failed the most when I had to walk away and sit alone to compose myself. It all blew by very quickly, because in ten minutes, everyone was laughing and on good terms.

slender-2

I think that is how our group works. We are all passionate about what we do, and we want perfection, and when we cannot reach our standards, emotions explode out of us. Strangely enough, we always seem to work through it. Every time we get together as a group, we learn more and more from each other, and every film gets better.

Even though we were up all night, we had amazing moments while filming, and I am so proud to call these guys my friends and my co-workers. I don’t think I could ask for a more creative and talented group of people.

Always remember: it is okay to be frustrated and angry, but talk it out, hug it out, walk outside and get a breather, get some food and water, because you cannot let work get in the way of friendship.

